January was here

January was all about icy cold air and white winter sun. It has also been about easing back into my Japanese life.

It took a bit of transitioning, but I can say that I’m ok now ! I don’t feel in foreign land in my apartment and neighborhood anymore, I’ve settled back into work smoothly and have even readjusted to life as a couple !

So, in January, I

  • started the year in France, enjoying family & friends and helping my mum prepare her move to another apartment
  • went back to Japan and settled back slowly but nicely into my life over here
  • painted my nails red or bright pink on a few occasions, and it kinda lifted my spirits a little bit. Funny how it works.
  • re-contacted people for a research project I’ve had at the back of my mind for more than a year
  • saw 4 movies (Inception and The American in the plane back to Japan, Disney’s Beauty and the Beast, and Before Sunset, a 2002 movie with Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy)
  • enjoyed a nice cup of coffee upon arrival at work everyday, and it has made starting to tackle the tasks at hand that much more enjoyable (I do love that first coffee)
  • baked a bit (green tea cake and a yogurt cake, recipes to come)
  • cooked 2 new dishes, both really simple and very tasty : beef+broccoli sautéed with oyster sauce and soy sauce, pork+green asparagus sautéed with lemon juice
  • did crossword puzzles like they were going out of style (yeah, I’m a nerd like that. I find crossword puzzles oddly soothing)

Last year went by at such incredible speed, I felt a bit unsettled not to have noticed just where time kept disappearing. So I thought this year, I’ll try and document a bit more the ordinary, and do a short monthly wrap-up, like above. Just to keep track of these little bits of life that otherwise go unnoticed or forgotten…!

 

0 Responses to “January was here”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

