Pintuck pillows and what we put into handmade objects

I have a bookmark folder named “craft tutes to try”. It contains exactly that. And admittedly it is ever-growing. It almost took a life of its own, so much so that I had to subdivide it by crafts : paper craft, sewing, patchwork, crochet, etc. Just writing about it, my heart goes just a little faster. Sigh. Crafty goodness and possibilities all over the place !

So when my sweet mum got tired of her old, sad, forest green pillows, I knew I had just the right project on hand to free her couch from these floppy things nobody in the house dared to call pillows any more (just a little bit of drama thrown in for good measure).

To my (and the couch) rescue, came the talented Ellen of The Long Thread and her great pintuck pillow project. I unearthed some home decor fabric purchased a couple of years back…just because it was pretty (I do that sometimes, yes), and followed the well written instructions. Being a beginner at anything sewing, I was curious to see if I could come out with a decent result, and I think I did pretty well. It’s far from perfect, but I’m still happy with them ! Thank you Ellen !

I did one pillow exactly as suggested, and for the other one, I put more and more space between the pintucks, resulting in a slight gradation.

I sewed these pillows just a few days before leaving home and going back to Japan (I arrived a few days ago, still enjoying the jet lag induced  fuzziness). The last days home are always filled with mixed feelings. Somewhat happy to go back to my other home, but so very sad to leave my family and friends behind. Especially my mum, because I know her life is not so easy. So among others things, I made pillows for her. I hugged, cooked, talked, and made pillows. Because I thought it might cheer her up when she looks at them. Because they’re not store bought pillows, but handmade pillows, that I took the time to make especially for her, her couch, her living room. To bring just a little bonus hint of happiness. For me, that’s what the pillows, and handmade in general, is about. I do believe these objects we make with our hands, especially for those we love, have this very special added value. Something that says : I did it for you, because I think of you and you’re well worth the time and the effort, because you’re that special to me.

So, I’m going to stop there before I start crying in front of my computer screen 😉 , but these are my thoughts.  What about you ? What do you put in your handmade objects ?

4 Responses to “Pintuck pillows and what we put into handmade objects”


  1. 1 Ellen January 28, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    They turned out great! So glad the instructions worked out for you. Thanks for sharing!

  2. 2 mycraftyways January 28, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Thank you !
    Well, and thank you for your generous tutorials !

  3. 3 Bejeweled February 4, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    I think it is always OK to buy crafting materials, whether they be beads or fabric or something else, just because they are pretty 🙂 I have some yarn that I’ve had for years that is just waiting for the right special project. But when that time comes, I’ll be glad that I have such fantastically beautiful materials to work with!

    Your pillows are amazing!! Fabulous job! I’m having a hard time believing you are a beginning sewer … those are just really amazing with all those pretty pleats!! I just know your Mom loves them and will think of you every time she sees them and of your connection to each other. I think that’s exactly what handcrafted is all about: something special, made with love, made just for them to show you care.

    Hope the new year is treating you well!!

  4. 4 Ricky July 23, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    Fantastic items from you, man. I have understand your
    stuff previous to and you’re simply too magnificent. I really like what you have got right here, really like what you’re saying and the way
    in which by which you are saying it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to
    stay it sensible. I can not wait to learn
    far more from you. That is actually a wonderful site.


Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

