In my own words

“What are you about right now?”

This is the question I found on Beth Hemmila’s blog, and I liked the idea of answering in the form of a word cloud so much that I was in the game almost immediately.

wordd

I’ve used Wordle before, mostly to make cards or…mm…as a major procrastination tool. It’s a very nice and simple application : input the words you want to use, chose the colors, layout, font, et voila ! You can even customize the color palette, which I found so useful when I made cards for friends, as it allows for so much more choices.

But let’s go back to the question : “What are you about right now?”. This is something I ask myself so often (too often ?) that i had a light chuckle when I read it. And instead of over thinking it, I just jolted down (on Wordle, in this case πŸ™‚ ) the words that came to my mind as spontaneously as possible. I didn’t hold back and at the end was a bit surprised by a few of them. Which was nice. I have to admit that the first version of my answer was much longer than the version you see here…!

Doing this I thought it would actually be really nice to do this little exercise every once in a while. Not only in my head – that, I do rather too often, but leaving a trace, be it on Wordle and then printing it, or as a drawing/painting. I think it’d be nice to have these, as a reminder of who I am/was at a certain moment in time.

Just a few words about Beth, if you don’t know her yet. She is an amazing jewelry designer. Not only is her work (her hand sculpted silver charms are so lovely they make my heart ache) beautiful, but her words are so inspiring. If you have the chance, prepare a cup of your favorite beverage and go and spend a little while in her world, you wont regret it.

Good day everyone !

4 Responses to “In my own words”


  1. 1 Beth Hemmila (Hint Jewelry) June 15, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Love, love, love your word cloud. Particularly because I can almost feel your mood from the colors and shape of the letters. When I did this exercise with Wordle it almost changed how I was viewing myself just by seeing how the words were randomly arranged. Thanks for sharing in the fun, and much gratitude for the lovely words about my work and blog. Have an awesome week!

  2. 2 Bejeweled June 16, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Oh wow! What an intriguing idea! I love your word cloud and I really do get a particular feeling about you from the colors and word choices.

    And you’ve been posting a ton too! Yeah .. I love reading your posts πŸ™‚

    I’m heading over to Wordle now. I’m not sure .. should I try to answer the question β€œWhat are you about right now?” or not? I’ve got so much going on right now that the cloud would no doubt be quite an eccentric, eclectic creation πŸ™‚

    • 3 mycraftyways August 11, 2009 at 4:57 pm

      It really was an intriguing idea for me too. I just couldn’t resist and had to give it a try. It might actually be a fun way to try and clear your mind when there’s too much swirling inside πŸ˜‰

  3. 4 Joella June 17, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Thanks for your kind words and stopping by my blog:) I was reading your wordle and you sound so much like me…nice to meet you!


Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

