Ladder stitch bracelet : sweet and simple

Did you all have a good week end ?

Here, it was a nice, hot, peaceful week end, mostly spent outside to enjoy the sunny weather and the spring smelling wind ! Also to admire the cherry trees that have been in full bloom since last week…but more on that (with pictures !) later during the week.

I just wanted to post about the second little project that I used to (try and) get myself out of the strange craft block I was in. This one is from Bead and Button (August 2006) and you can find the tutorial online here.

The beading in this project is quite simple too : a ladder stitch base, embellished with seed beads. Another enjoyable thing about this bracelet is that it stitches up pretty fast and the color combinations are endless ! Ideal beading project when you need a craft/beading fix, but don’t have much time to put in it…or simply for (almost) instant gratification !

ladderbracelet

Very pleasant to bead, this bracelet is also very comfortable to wear, the ladder stitch base giving it a nice stability on the wrist. I like it very much ! If I make it again, I will add one more seed beads on each row (and side) of the embellishment though. I think it will look a bit “fuller” with this small adjustment.

Along with the bracelet I posted about the other day, this one too are going to join my list of projects for holiday presents… well, I still have to put the list up, but hey, here it begins ! They’re not too time consuming, the supplies are not too difficult to find, they’re adaptable in size and colors for the happy recipient of the gift…on and on, they pretty much fill the requirements of the (realistic) handmade present project. I really would like to make more handmade gifts, and having a list of doable projects on hand to browse through when the date approach, may actually help me to get to that goal. We’ll see, I guess !

8 Responses to “Ladder stitch bracelet : sweet and simple”


  1. 1 Bejeweled April 20, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    Oh, I remember that project! And I think yours looks tons better than than the ones I remember being pictured. Love the color combination you used too.

    Making a few extra handmade treats also gives you a great supply of birthday presents, housewarming gifts, and thank you gifts. Alas, my family is mostly boys and I always struggle to think of things to handcraft for them ….. if only they liked jewelry 🙂

    Oh, cherry blossoms! They are so beautiful!! Ours lasted about a week and then a huge storm blew through and they were done. I would love to see pictures of yours!

  2. 2 mycraftyways May 7, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Thank you so much for such a nice comment !
    I have to say I hesitated quite a while when picking out the colors, I felt I wanted something not too bright, nicely subtle !

    I hear you on the handmade gifts for boys ! I still haven’t found any satisfying idea on that front…:)

  3. 3 IRENE CASEY December 16, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    AWWWWW lovely bracelet. Great autumn combination. Spring pastel color would be great, too! Oh yes, christmas – gold, red, emerald and black… 🙂
    Happy Holidays

  4. 4 Jan June 6, 2012 at 3:53 am

    I have made this pattern and I used 3 mm firepolished beads for the center, added a little bling!

  5. 5 Judy Carter September 1, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    Hi Just popped in out of curiosity and love that bracelet. Actually, this afternoon I will be sitting in my screened gazebo with a good friend, teaching her how to do this, while I am making my own. Have been doing some kumihimo and this looks like a great one to do for a different look.

    Thanks!!!

  6. 6 Lynne September 28, 2014 at 6:29 pm

    Absolutely love your color combination! Perfect for fall. Could you tell me what colors you used? Fantastic job!

    • 7 IRENE CASEY September 28, 2014 at 8:18 pm

      Yes perfect for autumn tone. I have made two bracelets – one is red,white and blue on black, the other one is red, silver and blue on white which is my favorite and I wear it almost everyday!!!!!!


  1. 1 Handmade greeting card – colors in a package « Under a (crafty) tree Trackback on June 2, 2009 at 9:50 am

Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

