Simple beaded bracelet : a bit of crystal to conquer the crafty block !

I’ve had some sort of a crafty block those past few weeks : lots of ideas, creative thinking all over the place, a growing urge to craft/sew/bead/draw…MAKE something, anything. Yet nothing was actually made, because each time I could have made something, I found myself  pacing in my room, wondering what I should be doing first. Hum. This doesn’t make much sense, not even to me, but resulted in a very frustrated crafter.

A few days ago, I decided that the way out of this strange crafty block (or is it a rut ? I don’t know) was to choose  the simplest project I could think of, stop the thinking and go through it. Power through the block !

I’ve had my eye on two beading project for a few months that I never actually got a hand on because there was always something else to do. One of them is a pretty simple beaded bracelet, using cross-needle stitch (two needles right angle weave).

pasodoble21

Kashaya, a french beader, created the tutorial for this Pasodoble bracelet (you can find it here, a quick registration is needed to access the forum. I think non-beginners beaders out there may not need a tutorial, but it is definitely useful for beginners).

pasodoble11

Very pleasant to bead, quite fast, it was exactly the kind of project I needed. I got out of it pretty satisfied !

I’m not used to using blue colors, so it was interesting to manipulate unusual (well, unusual for me) shades. I chose these three shades of blue because the bracelet is a little gift for my blue-loving blue-eyed mum. First I wanted to wait until Mother’s Day, but I don’t think I’ll be that patient, and will just send it to her as a gift with no reason (well, actually, there is a reason, going like “you’re the best and sweetest and funniest mum ever” ).

Anyway, this was a very satisfying, easy beading bracelet. I still have to add the clasp and it will be good to go.


I feel like asking, what kind of creative blocks do YOU experience ? And more than that, how do you find your way out of it ? I think these are quite a common thing among crafty/creative folks, and I feel very curious about the form they take for each of you and the way(s) each of you find to get back on track. I’d be very happy to hear about your experiences !



9 Responses to “Simple beaded bracelet : a bit of crystal to conquer the crafty block !”


  1. 1 Bejeweled April 7, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Hi there!

    ooooooh! More gorgeous beadwork! Your work is just so … perfect! What a wonderful gift that will be! She is just going to love it!

    I like just giving gifts “anytime” too. Makes for an extra special surprise for my loved ones 🙂

    Hmm.. for creative blocks, I usually hit the nearest book store, yarn store, beading store, etc. to get inspiration and energy. Then come home and hit the studio with peppy music going in the background 🙂

  2. 2 beadinggem April 11, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    This is a beautiful bracelet – the blue and copper color combination is just lovely.

  3. 3 mycraftyways May 7, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    I may try the peppy music next time I feel blah ! I’m sure it’ll spice things up, at least a little 🙂

  4. 4 JKG105 June 28, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    The link to Kashaya’s tutorial doesn’t seem to work for me. Nonetheless, I found a site that does not require a login that has Kashaya’s instructions on how to make a paso doble bracelet. It is:

    http://beadsmagic.com/?p=117

  5. 5 morgan paull dies May 7, 2013 at 7:42 am

    I truly love your site.. Very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create my own site and would love to know where you got this from or what the theme is named. Appreciate it!

  6. 6 Brofman Weishaupt December 10, 2013 at 1:42 am

    I agree with David, if it’s a real diamond ring it will be fantastic.
    In my nation the convention would be to give the ring of grandma which are precious
    because are handmade.

  7. 7 diamond prices November 16, 2015 at 11:07 am

    What’s up friends, good post and good arguments commented here, I am really enjoying
    by these.


  1. 1 Ladder stitch bracelet : sweet and simple « Under a (crafty) tree Trackback on April 13, 2009 at 2:58 pm
  2. 2 Handmade greeting card – colors in a package « Under a (crafty) tree Trackback on June 2, 2009 at 9:50 am

Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

