2009 beading projects : a glimpse

Hi !

Still in the spirit of “filling in the blank”, here is what has been happening on the beading front since the beginning of 2009.

Bracelets and a necklace, this is what they are supposed to become, but none of them are finished yet… As always, I never can finish a project before beginning the next one !

I am now convinced that I am a big fan of the herringbone stitch : depending on the beads size and/or the combination of beads sizes and shapes, the possibilities seem endless. It is such a versatile and pleasant stitch !

20090225-perles

I decided to take up netting with the pink necklace in the picture below. Netting was how I got into beading in the first place. A gazillion years ago (just a slight exaggeration !).

I remember having been completely mesmerized by the lace-like quality of those netted seed-beads necklaces ! This looked so much more complex and interesting and fun than simply stringing one bead after another, like I was doing at the time (and already loving !).

Enough rambling !

Have a nice day !

6 Responses to “2009 beading projects : a glimpse”


  1. 1 amber leilani March 17, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    glad you’re back!

    the bracelet in the center if fantastic!!!

    and the pics in the previous post are just gorgeous… as always.

  2. 2 Amy Esther March 26, 2009 at 5:02 am

    Wow, amazing work! The one in the center is especially beautiful!

  3. 3 mycraftyways March 30, 2009 at 7:12 am

    Hi Amber,

    I’m glad to be back !
    It may take a while to be “completely” on track again, but hey, I’m here ๐Ÿ™‚

    Actually I am very curious to see how the bracelet in the center is going to turn up. I don’t know yet how I’m going to finish it…

  4. 4 mycraftyways March 30, 2009 at 7:13 am

    Hi Amy,

    Thanks for your comment !
    I’ll post pictures when those are completed ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 5 claudia July 29, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    I love the herringbone in the middle with the “bumps”. Are you able to share the pattern or can you direct me to a link that might have it? I have just found your blog and you are an inspiration to create. Thank you.

    • 6 mycraftyways August 11, 2009 at 4:52 pm

      Claudia,
      I do not have a pattern, but I can try to explain the process. It looks much more complicated than it actually is.
      The bumps are made by adding different beads (here the metallic orange seed beads and the drops) in between the herringbone stacks.
      When using the herringbone stitch, you add 2 beads, go down one, go up one, add 2 beads, etc. To add “in between beads” to produce the bumps (or just a flat embellishment depending on the number and the type of beads you add), you will add 2 beads, go down one, insert your “in between bead(s)”, go up one, add 2 beads, etc. It’s just one added step to the regular herringbone stitch.
      Let me know if you try it !


Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

