2009 New Year Handmade Greeting cards

The end of the year is coming close, and my thoughts are already on sending sweet greetings for the New Year ! I just love sending cards to the people I care about, especially handmade cards. I like to think they will bring more to the recipient than the mass-produced ones… and I love making them !

So, this year, I wanted to use Japanese traditional patterned paper, Chiyogami (or Yuzen, or Yuzen chiyogami). After a bit of thinking, I ended up with a simple “window-like” design, each window showcasing a different type of paper. I talked about that and made a simple tutorial here a couple of weeks ago.

carte1

carte2

For the first batch, I chose a light eggshell paper for the cards and played a bit with the shape of the card and the shape of the windows. You can see some of the resulting cards in the pictures of this post. Because the sizes of my cards are not standard, I made the matching envelopes too. For those, I chose a violet paper, in which I cut out a few windows to showcase some more Chiyogami paper.

carteenvelope1

I might add a bit of glitter here and there to make them just a bit more festive, but I’ll leave them in their simple state for a while, just to be sure.

I am not sure yet what color(s) the next batch will be, but if you have any suggestion, I’m all ears (…well, eyes, really 🙂 ) !

carteenvelopes

Note : just in case some of you might be interested, I will post the templates for these cards a few days from now.

11 Responses to “2009 New Year Handmade Greeting cards”


  1. 1 thebeaddreamer November 29, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I have seen a lot of handcrafted cards and these are really different and so lovely. They could also be done using cut up cards you receive to recycle them. Very nice.

  2. 2 Jacqui from Mee a Bee December 14, 2008 at 6:48 am

    They are gorgeous!!! I wish I had the time and patience for something like this.

  3. 3 reeha ahmed September 20, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    i am interested in making cards…. its so nice to see some awesome
    once here..hope to make some lyk theses soon..thanks for uploading..

  4. 4 Sarah October 28, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    I love the patterns you chose to go in the cards’ windows. Very neat! Looks like a lot of hard work and love went into these little masterpieces!

  5. 5 malka zahra December 30, 2011 at 1:17 am

    they are very beautiful………..its patterns are excellent

  6. 6 Chetana Kalikeri March 18, 2012 at 5:51 am

    really nice.. 🙂 liked them and very pleasant..thanks for uploading..

  7. 7 Anna May 2, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    your cards are beautiful… i make cards myself, and they caught my eye while I was looking for inspiration!

  8. 8 Juthika November 24, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    simple and beautiful…

  9. 9 Jhony December 18, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    Really Beautiful Designs. I Just Loved it.


  1. 1 Новогодние открытки своими руками: идеи | СКРАПБУКИНГ И ДРУГОЕ БУМАЖНОЕ ТВОРЧЕСТВО Trackback on December 18, 2010 at 10:03 pm
  2. 2 Как сделать конверт из бумаги своими руками? | СКРАПБУКИНГ И ДРУГОЕ БУМАЖНОЕ ТВОРЧЕСТВО Trackback on December 20, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

