Beaded bracelet : “Ande” herringbone

A few weeks ago, I decided to tackle the pile of unfinished projects awaiting in (and flowing out from…hum) the “Unfinished Objects” box.

Good idea, right ? Completing a few projects, feeling good, starting afresh with new ones.

I did open the box, sneaked a peek in it… tentatively rummaged through the tangled threads… and finally took out this bracelet. Well, at the time, the beginning of a bracelet, really.

The model comes from Ande, a talented Hungarian beader, kind enough to share her tutorial here.

When I first found it, months ago, I really liked the very geometric and regular feel of this design. The rows of herringbone stitch and the crystals offer a nice playground to experiment with color.

So here I went with a very dark purple, a transparent forest green with purple accents, and some 4mm Austrian bicone crystals in different shades of pink (vintage rose, light rose, rose water opal).

Now that it is finished, I can say I really like the color combination !

I’m not completely satisfied with the finishing though and I can’t quite put my finger on it, but for this time, it’ll be all right this way.

It was a very pleasant bracelet to bead and I’ll definitely do it again. I’d like to try it in a wider version (maybe 5 or 6 rows of crystals), and maybe try a monotone colorway for a change (like all bronze-like colors, or black in different finishes). I can’t wait !….oh, but wait…unfinished projects first…!


(I’m sorry I couldn’t take better pictures, it’s very dark and cloudy here today…)

16 Responses to “Beaded bracelet : “Ande” herringbone”


  1. 1 MaryAnnArtist September 5, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    What a beautiful bracelet. Your beadwork is incredible. Very, very beautiful.

  2. 3 mycraftyways September 7, 2008 at 10:28 am

    MaryAnn, Hi !

    Thank you for such a nice comment !
    I must say the credit for this bracelet really goes to Ande, this model is so nice !

  3. 4 mycraftyways September 7, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Amber,

    Well thank you, thank you, thank you !
    🙂

  4. 5 Bejeweled September 9, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Your beadwork is so immaculate and precise – just lovely! I have two little energetic boys who leave a whirlwind of toys all over the house and looking at your orderly, perfect beadwork is so calming to me. I could look at your photos all day 🙂

  5. 6 mycraftyways September 9, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Bejeweled,

    What a beautiful compliment,
    I’m not quite sure I really deserve it, but it made me very happy anyway !
    Thank you so much !

  6. 7 galeandra September 12, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Very beautiful bracelet, with wonderful matching colors!

  7. 8 mycraftyways September 14, 2008 at 4:57 am

    Galeandra, thank you !
    I do like those colors together !

  8. 9 beadibulle September 18, 2008 at 7:06 am

    ce bracelet est superbe ! j’aime beaucoup l’harmonie des toupies ! il a un côté précieux mais pas clinquant ! je l’aime beaucoup !!

  9. 10 mycraftyways October 3, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Merci Beadibulle !

    …et desolee du temps que ton commentaire a mis a apparaitre. Il a ete classe par erreur dans la liste des spams.

    Du coup ca a ete une double surprise de le trouver !
    Merci d’etre passee !

  10. 12 mycraftyways October 11, 2008 at 5:17 am

    Thank you RegalBeads ! 🙂

  11. 13 Anita February 13, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    how can I buy it?

    Anita

  12. 14 Jani February 20, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Beautiful!!!!!! I love the colours youve used

  13. 15 yaarit October 11, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Lovely bracelet, great colors.

  14. 16 laura April 2, 2011 at 12:53 am

    BEAUTIFUL,,,,,, AWESOME,, LOST FOR WORDS. I’M IN LOVE
    laura
    will you do a tutorail?


Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

