Thoughtful Friday 8 – A quiet mind

“Only in quiet waters things mirror themselves undistorted.

Only in a quiet mind is adequate perception of the world.”

Hans Margolius

There are so many times when my own view of the world is biased by the swirl of emotions going on inside.

My own grasp of the situation going through the filter of whatever worries or fear I hold on to in that moment.

An unsettling process, really.

Such a big gap there is sometimes between objective reality and how I see it.

Between the real me and the me I see.

Wouldn’t it be nice to see yourself through a confidence-enhancing filter ?

Or even just an objective filter.

Instead of a confidence-reducing, worries-welcoming one.

That quiet mind,

that puts aside the disturbing bubbling of negative emotions,

I’m longing for it.

…and because longing is not quite enough,

I’m reaching out for it,

day by day,

in my own little ways…!

What about you all ?

How do you reach that quiet place in your mind where everything falls into place ?

3 Responses to “Thoughtful Friday 8 – A quiet mind”


  1. 1 amber leilani August 25, 2008 at 1:37 am

    i haven’t quite found that quiet place in my mind yet – i have my happy place i go to when i get stressed though…

  2. 2 mycraftyways August 26, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Dear Amber,
    I think having found your happy place is already a good start !
    (I finally ordered the War of Art, should be there in a couple of weeks, can’t wait !)

  3. 3 amber leilani August 27, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    cool! i think you are going to like it!


Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

