Thoughtful Friday 7 – From within

” Happiness depends upon ourselves “

Aristotle

” Happiness is an attitude. We either make ourselves miserable, or happy and strong. The amount of work is the same “

Francesca Reigler

Yesterday was one of those days.

When you wake up tense, with a numbness inside and without sense of purpose whatsoever for the hours to come. Those days when even the bright skies just make you feel even bluer.

One of those days. With no particular reason.

And it made me think. I tried to take a little distance from the whole feeling.

That’s when I realized I do that sometimes : on days like that, I will sometimes do everything possible to take myself down even more. I’ll throw myself my own private full-blown pity party. Obviously wiping out the very last shred of enthusiasm that had survived the mood of this day. I’m creative that way, too.

What would I do that ? Really. Well, it’s obviously a rhetorical question, I very well know the answer.

In those moments, I tend to completely forget the simple fact that I have a choice.

I can simply embrace the fact that today may be a slow day,

or I can beat myself up again and again with everything I feel is wrong with me/my life at this time,

or I can try to find the little joys hidden in even the most dark days.

The first and the last ones don’t feel so bad, don’t they ? But the second one, really…

So I dug up these little quotes, and wrote them on the board on my desk. And in my agenda. And here…!

Because, well, it’s always so easy to let myself believe that everything I feel comes from the outside,

when I know quite well that I am sometimes my own party-pooper.

So, if I can be that, I sure as well can choose and be something else for myself.

A matter of choice I guess…!

Today, I’m going to try and gather my own nectar !

Have a beautiful day !

6 Responses to “Thoughtful Friday 7 – From within”


  1. 1 amber leilani August 8, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    oh, i am with you on this one.
    i do the same thing to myself – some days i just wallow in the self pity!
    i have to work hard, sometimes not let the negativity in.
    it’s a lot of work to stay positive, sometimes… but it drains all my energy if i have a negative day.

  2. 2 mycraftyways August 8, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    Amber, I completely relate to what you wrote.
    The battle against inner negativity is a tough one, and it is exhausting at times.
    Maybe we could share tricks of how to keep it out sometimes !

  3. 3 amber leilani August 8, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    i am not really a self help book kind of gal, but one book i found helpful lately is called THE WAR OF ART. it’s all about how we let frustration and fear keep us from being the productive, creative people we are meant to be. a friend loaned me a copy and i liked it so much, i bought my own.

  4. 4 Bejeweled August 12, 2008 at 1:16 am

    I love your thoughtful friday posts. You have a wonderful way of writing things in such an honest, refreshing, approachable manner.

    So sorry you are having one of those grey days. I’ve found that putting on some energizing, inspirational music and doing something physically demanding, like power mopping the floors, gets my energy lifted pretty fast. Usually by the end, I’m dancing to the music, I’ve accomplished something — the floors are sparkling, and I am ready to treat myself to a morning drive to get a gourmet vanilla or pumpkin coffee and a trip to the craft store 🙂 A bag of sparkly beads later and the car smelling like a bakery, the happiness is usually pretty guaranteed and the day back on track 🙂

    Hope the day turned out beautifully for you, full of happiness and nectar!!

  5. 5 mycraftyways August 13, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Hi Jeweled,

    Thank you so much for such warm words ! It really made my day !

    Music has this incredible effect, hasn’t it ?! I love singing, and even on low days, I end up singing-dancing all over the apartment !

    That day finally ended up in a much more serene state of mind. It really felt good to actually put it into words and put it out there (well, here !).

  6. 6 mycraftyways August 13, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Amber,
    Thank you for the reference, I went and checked about this book and It will be home with my next amazon order.
    This resistance phenomenon is such a barrier, and it is strange because it is one that I can actually feel physically. I’m really curious about this book ! Thanks again for suggesting it !


Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

