Spiral herringbone necklace : completed !

So, this definitely took me much more time than I thought it would, but here it is, finished at last !

It sure felt good to check it off the Work In Progress/UnFinished Objects list (which is…well…kinda long).

From the beginning of the adventure to the point of carefully packing it and sending it to its (hopefully) happy recipient, a lot has been going on : an unexpected moving, the getting used of this new life, the arrival of a new friend and so on. Life just kept happening I guess ! Fortunately, I was given a lot of time to  complete this project so in the end, it all went well. I’m thankful for that.

So, this necklace is weaved in a spiral herringbone stitch, with a toggle and toggle bar weaved in peyote stitch. The rope itself is made of a four row herringbone stitch, with a fifth row (the golden Delica beads one) inserted in between. I was asked for bright colors, and knowing the recipient I chose a combination of lime greens and fuchsia pinks in a variety of finishes (matte, transparent, color-lined). I think the use of different finishes in the same shades give a more interesting overall look, and add depth to the texture. Because I wanted just a bit of sparkle, but not too much so that it would be difficult to wear on a daily basis, I added one row of golden Delica beads.  Those are a very soft gold color that fitted this purpose perfectly I thought.

I began weaving my rope with three rows of ladder stitch (for non-beady folks : a few rows of the ladder stitch often serve as a base to begin weaving in the herringbone stitch). No matter how hard I try, because of the twisting involved at the beginning to actually force the rope to spiral and get the beads in their right position, the thread is always showing a little bit on these first few rows. How annoying. I solved the problem by unweaving the ladder stitch rows once the rope was done and replacing them with herringbone ones.

It’s probably not the most efficient way to do this, but I have no idea how to begin a spiral herringbone rope without the ladder stitch part=without the thread showing when the rope begins to spiral. Does it make any sense ?!

I’m very happy with the result ! The colors mix very nicely, the necklace itself is really confortable to wear and can be with the toggle in the back or in front when in need of a focal point. I’ll be truly satisfied though when I hear if the lady who’s waiting for it liked it…Don’t leave me in suspense, pleaaaaase, pretty please !

10 Responses to “Spiral herringbone necklace : completed !”


  1. 1 subeeds July 28, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    That’s beautiful!!!!! I love the color combo you chose for it. I’ve been beading a couple of years now and haven’t tried a spiral herringbone yet.

  2. 2 mycraftyways July 30, 2008 at 6:52 am

    Thank you !
    The first time I tried spiral herringbone, I was a bit unsure of what I was doing : the first rows left me really doubtful, but I decided to keep on anyway…and keeping on did the trick ! I especially like the texture of this stitch.
    Let me know when you try it !

  3. 3 amber leilani July 31, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    the necklace is lovely! very unique and very wearable, i think.
    i want to try herringbone and have not – you have inspired me to do so!

  4. 4 mycraftyways July 31, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Hi Amber,
    Thank you for such a nice comment !
    I’m glad you too think it is wearable, because this was definitely one of the important points in making this necklace.
    The combination of colors and the spiraling gives it a bit of an unexpected touch…I think !

    About herringbone stitch, I do think it is a very versatile technique, very pleasant to weave too.
    Can’t wait to see when you give it a try !

  5. 5 Simone August 1, 2008 at 4:21 am

    I just love this necklace. The colors are gorgeous and the stitch creates such an interesting texture. I don’t know if you are interested in participating in awards, but I nominated your blog for the Brilliante Weblog award.

  6. 6 beadinggem August 2, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Fantastic clasp! Very good workmanship. Pearl

  7. 7 mycraftyways August 4, 2008 at 4:51 am

    Hi Simone,
    Thank you for dropping a line !
    …well, and thank you for this award, it’s my very first and I feel very excited about it !

  8. 8 mycraftyways August 8, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Hi Pearl,
    Thank you for stopping by and for such a lovely comment !
    When I started beading the clasp, I was a bit unsure where it was going, but it turned out pretty nice !

  9. 9 Selmadhendind March 4, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Excellent site craftyways.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here: this .. as it’s taken me literally 3 hours and 01 minutes of searching the web to find you (just kidding!) so I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  10. 10 Jane Harrison June 26, 2012 at 2:33 am

    I made a herringbone spiral using 11o delicas (white) and 11o rounds (hot pink AB). I used a two row ladder stitch of just white delicas to get started. Do you know of a way I can finish the “finished” end with the same 2 row ladder stitch?


Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

