Welcoming a new sewing partner !

She finally came !

I’ve been dreaming of welcoming one in the quiet of my little home for so long !

I can tell she’s still a bit shy but already fits perfectly in her new environment !

But first, let me put things in context here : my sewing experience have mostly been of the “sewing by hand” type. The few times I have actually made friend with a sewing machine, It involved a great deal of straight lines sewing (curtains, little pouches, tote bags, that kind of square-ish things !) on my mum’s old Singer (aka The Monster, meaning that in a very affectionate and loving way, after all, she literally guided my hand through my very first zipper !) What fun It was to actually make things with it !

But the time for goodbye came, and the Singer stayed in a corner of my parents house while I went back to my home in Japan, with the (not so) secret hope of having my own one day.

I planned It as a present to myself (a girl has to splurge sometimes), sort of a bribe really, for when I finish my PhD thesis. Well, the thesis got presented and at long last finished, and I still hesitated. “Isn’t there enough craft-related item around ?” “Will I really use It?” etc.

After all, I’m very much a beginner when it comes to machine-sewing…

But the anticipated thrill of making things with it and learning new tricks finally got me ! Yeah !

And last week, a very nice delivery man came and brought her into my life ! I have a secret fondness for delivery guys, they always bring so much joy. Literally !

I was so excited about the whole thing that I couldn’t bring myself to open the box for a few days. But when my heart rate around it became steady enough, I knew it was time.

So we got acquainted in the sweetest way one afternoon, I settled her on her little table. Sigh. This is good.

I made a few little things already, that I’ll share in my next posts !

7 Responses to “Welcoming a new sewing partner !”


  1. 1 joniphippin July 8, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    I know exactly how you feel. The rush, the guilt, the excitement. The joy. Great blog

  2. 2 mycraftyways July 9, 2008 at 9:02 am

    Thank you !
    It’s exactly as you sum it up. I guess It all comes from the many possibilities involved.
    … I’m sure it won’t be long before I actually talk to her…!

  3. 3 Dyan July 9, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    I remember when I got my first machine – it was a gift from my Dad. I loved it. Can’t wait to see yours, machines are fun and soon you’ll have lots of machine love and make up lots of fun things.
    Dy

  4. 4 mycraftyways July 10, 2008 at 5:32 am

    Hi Dy,
    I can’t stop thinking about all the things I’d like to make !
    I try not to begin too many things while I have WIP waiting to be finished…but that’s hard 🙂

  5. 5 Felicia July 10, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    She’s a beauty 🙂

  6. 6 mycraftyways July 10, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    She is, isn’t she 🙂 !

    Thank you for dropping by Felicia !

  7. 7 oge July 14, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    I want one now. She looks so innocent and new and…. enjoy. mine is 10years old but am too attached to swap for a newer model


Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

