How to take (nice) pictures of beaded jewelry

Beaded items are usually small, detailed, catch the light, all of which making them beautiful, with one tiny minor drawback : they are often difficult to take good picture of.

Macro photography is what most beaders or jewelry designers go for because of the focus it gives to the piece itself : colors, precise weaving, particular finishing, texture, details. Of course a picture of someone modeling the piece would be quite nice and useful too, but I’d like to keep it to the tricky art of macro-photography, just for today 🙂

It didn’t took me long to discover that natural light worked best, especially in the early morning and late afternoon, when its not blinding. Unfortunately, natural light is not always an option, in which case a very good lighting indoor can do the trick, just don’t forget to adjust the white balance on your camera.

So far so good, but still not quite enough.

I’m longing for the day where my jewelry macro-pictures will be clear and sharp, rendering the true colors, enhancing the textures…so :

Guessing I’m not the only one struggling, I thought I share some links I have found while looking for a miracle practical solution to the problem !

A basic introduction on macro photography, including some hints about exposure and lighting : how to take close-up pictures of small things

On a much friendlier tone, some basics of (macro but not only) photography : Shoot to sell

Home jewelry success tips has an article on photographing your jewelry, with an interesting tip on how to use a scanner for this purpose and lots of useful links.

and a nice (and simple) tutorial to build your very own macro-photo studio, with examples of the shot taken this way on Strobist.

Finally, on Beading Daily, editor Jean Campbell shares her take on the making of a simple (and portable) photo studio, in her friendly funny way !

I still have to try out some of those hints and tips, but I’m pretty sure It’ll be worth it !

6 Responses to “How to take (nice) pictures of beaded jewelry”


  1. 1 oge June 9, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    Hi .

    I Like the colours you’ve chosen for your bead work they are very pretty. Really useful tip on taking pictures i’ve got some i made and i cant for the life of me take any worthwhile pictures of them

  2. 2 mycraftyways June 10, 2008 at 5:49 am

    Thank you !
    I hope this list was helpful, it can be so frustrating to try and take pictures of small items like beadwork.
    I do believe the day will come when I can take descent pictures of them though !!

  3. 3 Jim Juris July 22, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    I offer free information on jewelry photography on my Inexpensive Jewelry Photography web site and also on my Cameramanjim blog.

  4. 4 Susan January 26, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    This information was very helpful. This is a necessary skill to be able to market my jewelry. Thanks so much for the tips.

  5. 5 Susan January 26, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    You can see examples of my pictures and jewelry at Simplysusanjewelry.etsy.com
    or Simplysusanjewelry.com

  6. 6 Joma Jewellery London October 20, 2017 at 10:37 pm

    This HUB is less than par for HubPages. Legit gold shopping for websites always give folks the exact money amount for their gold.


Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

