In the process of moving and settling : Kyoto

After spending a good part of last year helping my parents move from a house in the countryside to an apartment in the suburbs, I swore to myself (and the people passing by) that I would not touch another box, tape roll or any packing related item for at least the next decade.

All that swearing (in both sense, I’m afraid !) must have been heard by someone with a weird sense of humor, because after just a few months back home, I had to move again !

But stop the complaining, it’s a nice destination indeed : after six years in the Tokyo area, I’m heading to Kyoto, ancient capital of Japan and major cultural center. This is all job-related, not mine though, but the Boyfriend’s one.

I guess a new chapter of my life in Japan is just beginning ! As always with the beginnings, it feels both exciting and a bit scary… I can’t wait to walk around the city and rediscovering it ! So many shrines and temples, so many beautiful sceneries ! I came three or four times, but there’s so much to see, so many places to roam, that I always left with the urge of coming back again. Well, a lot of walking around is awaiting !

To really start settling, I first have to get rid of the empty boxes that seem to have invaded every single inch of the floor ! I’m on my way !

Here’s my new neighborhood around 7:00am !

5 Responses to “In the process of moving and settling : Kyoto”


  1. 1 beadibulle June 16, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    hello!
    thanks a lot for your visits !
    how do feel in your new country ? there must be so many things to learn, to see …and to taste !!! I read that still in the boxes you are beading !! I love the colors of your spirale! I’ll come back to see the necklace !!!

  2. 2 mycraftyways June 17, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Thank you so much for coming and dropping a line !
    Kyoto is a beautiful place with so many things to see !

    I’m almost finished with the spiral rope : I’ll post the result soon. Tell me what you think when you see it !

    Have a nice day !


  1. 1 Spiral herringbone necklace : completed ! « Under a tree Trackback on July 28, 2008 at 7:45 am
  2. 2 Pottery Market in Kyoto « Under a tree Trackback on August 7, 2008 at 3:31 am
  3. 3 Thoughtful Friday 11 - Toward the light « Under a tree Trackback on October 3, 2008 at 12:11 am

Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

