Spiral herringbone necklace : the beginning

Everything started with these beautiful charlotte seed beads I’ve had in my stash for a while.
With their single cut, delicate sparkle and pretty mate colors, I spent a lot of time looking at them, but just couldn’t decide what would be the best use for them.
After a bit of mental tossing and turning, I finally decided to make them into a very simple and clean design, where they could have the leading part.
I went for a spiral herringbone rope ! I’ve always liked the look of it so it was the perfect timing to finally try my hands at it.

The start is a bit tricky because of the unbalanced way of producing the stitch. This jump in the stitch (going back deeper than the very last row to create the next) was a bit confusing for the few first rows, but once my hands (and my brain ?!) got used to it, it went like a charm !

I’m pretty happy with the way it’s coming out !

I wonder how I’m going to finish it…mmm.

Edit : I can’t seem to be able to insert the picture properly, I don’t know why…Click on the link to see it ! Thank you ! Problem solved !

4 Responses to “Spiral herringbone necklace : the beginning”


  1. 1 Susan Chun November 13, 2008 at 12:43 am

    Can you share the instructions for this spiral herringbone with me? Please, please!
    Susan

  2. 2 Katrien November 28, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    Hello …
    I really love this stitch … and I was wondering if you would share the design! Or instructions for making this kind of rope!

    A very very big thank you!
    katrien

  3. 3 Louise January 7, 2009 at 4:34 am

    Well – did you leave a pattern. It is beautiful. I am experimenting with spiral herringbone (love doing that stitch) and that color combination is wonderful.

    Louise

  4. 4 Jonna March 13, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Uhmm.. I really need your reply, I swear, how did you do the stitch in the ending part where the metal clasp is lovated, it kinda makes my brain all tangled up, thanks, 🙂


Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

