Four Crafty resolutions

Hi !

I love making lists – I they make me feel grounded or something. Craft is no exception : I’ll list what new techniques I would love to learn, new media I would like to try, and usually just writing it down helps to start the process … or at least allows it not to disappear in the labyrinth of my not-so reliable memory. Humm.

A few things have been on my mind for 2008, some crafty goals, and It goes like this :

– Experiencing with color(s). Any color, any media. I’m a bit obsessed with colors : all the nuances, the shadows, the depth, the transparent quality of it sometimes. It may be the reason I like Mark Rothko’s artwork so much. Anyway, this is definitely a big “want” for 2008, to get to comprehend a bit more of this amazing world of color. I’d like to use some colors I never use, maybe some I don’t even like so much, just for the fun of the experiment.

– Make (more) handmade gifts ! I’ve done that already : beadwork, small pouches, New Year cards and the like. But I have to admit I always feel a bit shy about it. People reactions toward handmade work can be so different (or no ?). And there’s the “is this really nice/cute/well finished enough to be given as a present ?”-factor. Mm, I’ll get over it !

– Surround myself with things I like love adore ! Be it drawings, prints, cards, photos, books, a favorite fabric, dishes, anything as long as it makes me smile, and makes me want to look at/read/touch/use it ! Everyday gets so much more fun, and so much inspiration lays in these everyday touches.

– Finish projects… or should I say, learn satisfying ways to finish projects. This is especially true for beadwork :I’ll weave a netted bracelet or necklace, be pretty happy with the result, and then get stuck with the finishing. The only thing here to go past through this is experimenting with different solutions : learning smart-pretty-convenient finishing techniques !

Beadwork in need of finishing !

A few of my beadwork, in desperate need of a nice finishing !


4 Responses to “Four Crafty resolutions”


  1. 1 subeeds January 30, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Beautiful bracelets-try a peyote toggle or beaded bead closure on them. That’s all I use on my pieces anymore. I like them for 2 reasons-they will be an automatic match to the piece it’s going on and it’s an economical solution.

  2. 2 Peetje March 31, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    j’adore, quel travail!
    ils sont à tomber!
    bises

  3. 3 Smadar April 11, 2008 at 1:12 am

    These bracelets are beautiful! I hope you did find a way to finish them by now…

    Smadar 🙂

  4. 4 mycraftyways April 11, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Thank you all for the nice comments !

    @ Subeeds :
    I definitely agree with you about the seamlessness provided by beaded closure. So far, I haven’t put that into practice a lot though, but I’m on my way now !

    @ Peetje :
    Merci beaucoup !
    J’espere arriver a les finir, les pauvres, ils attendent toujours !

    @ Smadar :
    I’m afraid they’re still waiting, there always seemed to be something else to bead 😉
    I did find a nice idea for the one on the left though : a pretty shell button that was sleeping in a drawer !

    Come by any time, It’s always heartwarming to read your lines !


Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

