Earthquake : we’re fine

I’m watching at my tv screen in disbelief as the extent of the earthquake and the subsequent tsunami unfold.

A little bit before 3:00 this afternoon a major earthquake hit Japan. At a magnitude of 8.9, it is the strongest earthquake ever recorded here. Although it was felt the strongest in the northern part of the main island, we felt it in Kyoto too, more than 700km away.

The first impression is that it lasted so long. I first thought I was dizzy, but it turned out the ground was just still shaking. What a strange feeling. I’m used to the normal 15-20 seconds quakes, but this one, more than a minute long, literally left me a little bit off balance.

I grabbed my computer and called my mum in France because I knew she would hear about it as soon as she wakes up. While we were talking, e-mails started to accumulate in my box. Friends and family wanting to know if we were ok. I answered them as soon as I ended the call with my mum. So thankful to have people in my life who care enough to be worried. I sent my share of worried e-mails too, while watching on tv the first waves of tsunami sweep the shores . So thankful we don’t live near the sea or a river.

So tonight, images of devastation filling my eyes and weighting on my heart, I feel incredibly thankful for my friends and family who are safe and sound, for the ones who care for me. And my heart and thoughts go to all the people who won’t be able to go home tonight, for those whose home just vanished in the waters or collapsed after the quake, for those who worry about their loved ones, for those who are scared.

Would you please join me and send a few thoughts their way ?

 

5 Responses to “Earthquake : we’re fine”


  1. 1 amberleilani March 11, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    i’m so glad you are ok! i just got up here in nola and found out what was going on. we have a friend whose wife’s family is from kyoto ( i think ). i am glad everyone there is fine. so strange to watch such horrid devistaion on the news – and that tsunami waves are washing ashore in hawaii and the west coast of the us. my thoughts are with everyone in japan…be safe!

    • 2 mycraftyways March 12, 2011 at 3:55 pm

      Thank you so much for your concern. The images and the news are just devastating, but receiving messages from friends really warms my heart.
      We’re really lucky in Kyoto, with just one big quake then just 2 mild ones yesterday. I was able to get in touch with all my friends today and everyone seem to be fine. What a relief.
      It’s difficult to have a clear idea of how things are going to unfold from now on, but I’ll try and keep my spirits high, thinking how very lucky I am.
      Thank you again Amber !

      • 3 amberleilani March 13, 2011 at 4:15 pm

        glad to hear that things are ok with you. keep us updated, as we know there have been some issues with the nuclear power plants….
        thinking of you and sending positive thoughts your way!!
        amber

    • 4 mycraftyways March 17, 2011 at 7:57 am

      Thank you again. I have to admit it all seems almost surreal…


  1. 1 In March, I… « Under a (crafty) tree Trackback on April 7, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Hi ! Welcome and thank you for visiting this little corner of mine ! Feel free to leave a few words, they make my day ;)

Bookmark and Share
Thoughtful Friday at Bella Dia
Craft Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

